To Register your vehicle in Florida you must have the following:
- Title to the Vehicle You Are Registering
- Proof of Insurance
- Valid Proof of Identification
Once you have all the necessary documents Broward Tags will verify the Vin and Odometer Reading which is required by the state to be completed for new residents and for vehicles less than 10 years old.
If you’re new to Florida, you will have 30 days to register and title your vehicle. Broward Tags can help you title your car or truck at the same time as you register it. You can obtain a title for the vehicle without having to register it, but it will be illegal to drive the vehicle if it is not registered in Florida. You will get pulled over by law enforcement and you will be penalized and even arrested if you’re driving a vehicle that is not registered.
Before you can register your Out-of-State vehicle, you must:
- Get a Florida Driver License
- Purchase Florida Auto Insurance
Come into Our Agency Broward Tags at 6750 Stirling Rd, Hollywood, FL 33024 and you must have
- Show your Florida driver’s license and If there is more than one owner, all the owners must submit proof of identity.
- Show proof of Florida insurance.
- Present the out-of-state title.
- If you do not have the title because it is still held by a lienholder, Broward Tags will help you contact the lienholder and have the new title sent to our tag agency, so we can register your vehicle.
- Have us complete a VIN inspection and odometer reading.
The state of Florida may charge sales tax, use tax, and local discretionary taxes on your vehicle whenever you register it for the first time in Florida. Whether or not you pay the taxes depends on how long you have owned your vehicle. The owner is responsible for 6%-7% Florida sales or uses tax and any local discretionary taxes your new city or county might require.
If You Bought A Car from A Dealership, you must have the following:
- The Title of The Vehicle which the dealer will provide within 30 days of sale
- Bill of Sale
- Odometer/Mileage Disclosure (For Vehicles less 10 years old).
- Proof of Identification
- Proof of Insurance
You will be subject to pay registrations fees, titles fees, vehicle registration fees, Florida sales taxes, local county fees and license plate fees. All fees must be paid to register your vehicle with the State of Florida.
If you are a resident of another state but you purchased a vehicle in Florida, you will qualify to get a temporary vehicle registration tag to legally drive the vehicle back to your state. Broward Tags will help you with all necessary paperwork be advise that you will need to pay Florida sales tax and provide proper proof of insurance to get the temporary tags.
Florida Military Residents
Florida service members that are stationed in the state are required to register any vehicle in the same manner as any other Florida resident; however, you do not have to pay the initial registration fee.
Military service members that are stationed in Florida but are not Florida residents are not required to register their car in the state. They must always maintain current vehicle registration in their home state and carry proper insurance.